Day Fifty-Three: The Plight of the Sensitive Souls-A Guidebook on Navigating this Chaotic World

Since childhood I have been overtly and keenly aware of my surroundings.

logo2download

Any intense stimuli seemed to effect me dozens of times more extremely

than my fellow human beings. Now, people such as this have also been

labeled empaths, introverts and conversely, babies, dramatic, or silly.

Much of my life I have felt singled out or misunderstood; others would

say I was exaggerating my emotional reactions to certain things. All of

us have very specific and varied personalities and many moments I have

been embarrassed or ashamed of my intense emotions-of which I cannot

hide by the way. I wear my emotions like a beacon in the night; I can’t

deny the way I am feeling at any given moment.

Now the first time I was made aware of Highly Sensitive People-the

diagnosis (HSP), was my first appointment with a very effective psychologist.

After asking me a battery of questions in which all answers were yes,

and after each answer I felt a bit more relieved; she handed me this

book-

hsp_covkitty-keeping-sanity

I struggle with labels and I hesitate to label myself or others but when

this ‘personality type’ was revealed to me I finally felt like I understood

something more about who I was. Sometimes we need to have someone

to reveal the missing piece of the puzzle so we don’t remain lost in the

abyss of being misunderstood by not only ourselves but others as well.

I am over forty now and I still do not have a grasp on how to live in a

world that seems to be on steroids; but I know I need to learn to adjust

because hibernating in a cocoon does not serve me.

I am looking for the answers. Here is a list of great ideas that are logical

and easy to achieve and implement:

8013521_f496il_340x270.242101241

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/prescriptions-

life/201105/top-10-survival-tips-the-highly-sensitive-person-hsp

If you fit the bill as a HSP; there are so many positive attributes that we

need to embrace and remember. Please do not beat yourself up about this.

Here is a lovely article “It’s Good to be Sensitive”:

http://richawriter.hubpages.com/hub/Its-Good-To-Be-Sensitive-

25-Wonderful-Aspects-Of-Highly-Sensitive-People

beautiful-soul

Morning Meditation: Bubble of Protection

event_266709592

Highly Sensitive-The Film

http://sensitivethemovie.com/

Highly Sensitive Person-Website-Very Informative

http://hsperson.com/

eye-e1394889808871Highly-Sensitive-Person-HSP-cover

Highly Sensitive Souls-Self Test & Test for Children

http://hsperson.com/test/

Sixteen Habits of Highly Sensitive People-Huffington Post

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/02/26/highly-sensitive-people-signs-habits_n_4810794.html

1351371118830_8555189

Grounding Meditation for Highly Sensitive People

Evening Meditation for Highly Sensitive People:

Peace, Love & Namaste to my Fellow Sensitive Souls-Em

Leave a Reply

