Tag Archives: balancing

Day Forty-Nine: Lesson 5-Let Your Manipura Glow-The Solar Plexus Chakra


Our solar plexus is the core of who we truly are. Yesterday we looked

at the throat chakra and learned that in strengthening it we are able

to more freely speak our truth. When we balance and give our solar

plexus power we act our truth.

During my life I have tried very hard to grasp onto meaning wherever

possible and succumb to the powerful lessons I learn about how to

be a better person in our world. I think we all do? Do we? That is

a profound question-one worth exploring more…

When one is disconnected to their core or solar plexus (Manipura)

their self esteem is at stake and wavering-they begin to make snap

judgements about others as a way to temporarily soothe the

emptiness they feel within themselves. Think about it people,

have you ever felt evolved after talking nastily about a fellow

human being? I think not-as each nasty word flows from our

lips we are pushed further from our source of being.

The first time I did the pitta solar plexus meditation below I

felt like a glowing yellow paintbrush entered into my soul

and with its artistry created a masterpiece of solidity and

ethereal beauty. This meditation can be done at any time;

it is short but extremely powerful.

Morning Mediation: 

Solar Plexus Chakra Information-Chakra Anatomy Website:


The Solar Plexus Chakra, located between the navel and solar plexus, is your power centre – your Core Self. While the Sacral chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment, the third chakra is all about who you are.


The gift of this chakra is sensing your personal power, being confident, responsible, and reliable. The third chakra is the centre of your self-esteem, your willpower, self-discipline, as well as warmth in your personality.

The energy of this chakra allows you to transform inertia into action and movement. It allows you to meet challenges and mover forward in your life.


The main challenge for the third chakra is to use your personal power in a balanced manner. What does that mean? It means consciously harnessing the energy of the solar plexus chakra. It means being proactive rather then reactive or inactive.

People with excessive third chakra energy react to life circumstances, they have emotional outbursts and are often stressed out. People with blocked or deficient third chakra are passive and inactive – allowing life to pass by while they do nothing.

Strong third chakra reflects the ability to move forward in life with confidence and power. It reflects the ability to make conscious choices to choose and to act.

The message of the third chakra is: You have the power to choose. Your can choose to achieve your life purpose or you can live out your karma or past experiences.

What do you choose? Do you choose love, light and healing? Do you accept that you have the power to choose? Do you feel a sense of freedom when you make a choice?

The third chakra is the centre of your self-esteem. Every time you judge or criticize yourself, you deplete this chakra and weaken your willpower. Self love, self acceptance, and acknowledgement of your own worth are the building blocks of the third chakra.

A woman with an open and balanced Manipura Chakra values herself and her work, is confident in her ability to do something well, loves and accepts herself, is willing to express herself in a powerful way, knows that she has the freedom to choose to be herself and direct her own life.


Solar Plexus Chakra at a glance:

Art Journal Exercise: Purchase a canvas or a pad of watercolor paper.

Draw a circular mandala design and paint or colour it in shades of

yellow-write as many or all of the affirmations below on the artwork.

Hang somewhere you will easily be able to access.


Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmations

I love and accept myself.
I stand up for myself.
I am strong and courageous.
I am worthy of love, kindness, and respect.
I choose the best for myself.
I express myself in a powerful way.
I am proud of my achievements.
I honor my self.
I choose healthy relationships.
I am authentic.
I direct my own life.
I appreciate my strengths.
I feel my own power.
I am free to choose in any situation.
I seek opportunities for personal and spiritual growth.
I am at peace with myself.

imagess535790600767996231_p216_i1_w761 (1)








Sanskrit name: Manipura (lustrous gem)
Element: Fire
Color: Yellow
Shape: Triangle (downward-pointing)
Petals of the lotus: Ten
Seed sound: Ram
Vowel sound: Ah
Rights: To act
Endocrine gland: Adrenals, pancreas
Physical association: Digestive system, liver, gall bladder
Psychological function: Will
Identity: Ego identity
Developmental stage: 18 – 42 months
Challenge: Shame
Plane: Celestial plane
Planets: Sun and Mars
Deity: Rudra, Lakini
Mythological Animal: Ram
Incense: Saffron, musk, sandalwood
Herb: Cinnamon, ginger
Sephira: Hod, Netzach
Tarot Suit: Wands

solar plexus chakra bow poseYoga Poses

The best solar plexus chakra yoga poses are those that strengthen your core and help you to feel more powerful and confident. Step into the Warrior I pose to access your inner spiritual warrior or go deeper with courage into the Bow pose. Continue into part 2 yoga poses, such as Boat pose or Lion’s pose.


Music for the Solar Plexus by the Stunning Sheila Chandra

A Delectable Playlist for the Solar Plexus

Yoga for the Solar Plexus:

Evening Meditation:


Peace, Love & Namaste Em

Day Forty-Five: Lesson 1-Healing A Broken Spirit-Caring for Your Heart Chakra

A dear friend of mine who had risen like a phoenix from very challenging

personal circumstances invited me to join her in taking the Reiki Level

One course. It just so happened that it fell a mere two days after I

went on my medical leave. Coincidence? Divine Intervention? I

was really at my lowest point and sitting in a room healing and being

healed sounded very daunting to me. I had nothing but fumes left

and couldn’t imagine how I could get through eight hours of lessons

without crying frequently and crumbling up into shards in the corner

of the room. How could I muster up enough strength to share myself

with a room full of strangers.

I urged myself to go; without knowing what path I would take and

it was the perfect choice. The first level of Reiki focuses on balancing

your own spiritual energies and also how to protect yourself, emphatically

from negative energy.

It was obvious to my colleagues that I was depleted and I spoke not

why or how-they knew not to ask. I was unable to even share as I

knew I would break out in tears-baring my soul to all.

The reiki master and I worked as partners and when she was

done-she looked straight into my eyes after the treatment and

said-“Oh Em; your heart chakra is broken and weak.” I was not

surprised, not at all. This awareness allowed me to focus my reikie95d7508204f05308d370fa16b347eed

treatments on the heart chakra; and now it is months later and

I am still feeling I need to focus much of my energy there.

If all of your chakras are not balanced you will notice a feeling

of imbalance and intuitively you will have an awareness of where.

Today’s focus is on raising awareness and educating 

ourselves on the function of the heart chakra-for the next several

days we will become introduced to each of the chakras.

Morning Meditation:

Reading: 5 Signs Your 4th (Heart) Chakra is Weak:



Keep Reading: Read all the way down to How to Strengthen

Your Heart Chakra

Journal Entry: Are you feeling any of these signs? Write about

what experiences in your life could have caused this imbalance.


Incredibly Beautiful Music for Healing the Heart Chakra

This music made me weep and is gentle enough for use during daily



Unblocking Your Heart Chakra




Heart Chakra Foods for Passion-Gaiam:


Chakra Line

Anahata-Heart Chakra Anatomy



Evening Meditation:

Peace, Love & Namaste