Day Eighty-Five: “What Do You Mean Your Spiritual?”-The Difference between Spirituality & Religion

Feature Artist-All of His Paintings are on Today’s Blog

Nikhel Big

spiritual-art-painting-devotion-686x1024.jpg.pagespeed.ce.zgXDAXtcto

http://nikhelbig.com/art-blog/2000/01/12/spiritual-paintings/

When people ask me if I am religious and I retort with the answer

“No, but I am a spiritual woman”. I get the same responses every-time:

a glazed and confused look-as if the individual is too polite to say “What

is that supposed to mean?”; or maybe a “well what religion do you

most relate to?”; or even a quick change of subject to avoid delving

into the conversation altogether.

Being spiritual does not mean that you commit to a specific religion

or way of thinking; it means that you believe in something more than

ego based thinking…that you connect to a higher source be it outside

or inside oneself…that you seek peace and enlightenment and reach

for ways to connect more fully with life and it’s magic.

I am not saying that if you fall under the “spiritual” category that

you shut the door to religion-you may actually connect to aspects of

many, many religions but feel that if you submit to just one that you

will be closed off to learning and appreciating all of the other religions

and what they have to offer.

There are many things in life that make you feel closer to your source

and for us “spiritual folk” that could be something like sitting in a tree

and feeling it rock gently with the wind; a quiet moment of meditation

where you feel so at ease and comfortable with yourself that you are

afraid to stop; digging in the earth as you watch the seeds you spread

grow into vegetables; connecting with the essence of your body during

yoga; listening to your child laugh with wild abandon…

Does this mean that we are all spiritual? I think we all live our lives

seeking the “spiritual experience” and that connecting with one another

regardless of our belief system can also enhance our feeling of contentedness

to our source.

My spiritual path during this very difficult time in my life is what has

allowed me to rise like a phoenix out of the ashes and desperately seek

out meaningful moments all throughout my day as a way of healing

myself. When I reconnect with my “spirituality and practices” I

am either so lost and disconnected and I need it to rescue me, or

I am at my best and it allows me to be even better!

noli-me-tangere-2.jpg.pagespeed.ce.8uaEvzZyT3

Morning Meditation: A Spiritual Treasure Chest

i-cried-for-you-2.jpg.pagespeed.ce.rYJHcS3pYu

Journal Entry: Map out your spiritual or religious path and take notes

on when you felt the most healthy and connected in your life-was spirituality

present at the time? What are your goals when it comes to spirit? What are

some ways you can connect to spiritual experiences that you love?

in-the-clouds-copy-300x221.jpg.pagespeed.ce.yiXwc-EDVx

Isha-What is Spirituality

The No Bullshit Guide to Spirituality

shiva-meditation-2-nik-helbig

Deepak Chopra’s Perception of Spirituality

Healing Spirit-Guided Meditation for Sleep

Peace, Love & Namaste Em

spiritual-painting.jpg.pagespeed.ce.jbspFfd3cC

Leave a Reply

