Day Seventy-Two: I Pick Purple! Trashing Gender Roles by Balancing the Divine Masculine & Feminine Within

images

Just a side-note before I start: Everyday so may titles run through my brain

and I cannot usually purge one so as you can see my titles are epic-ally long!

I was driving home from the city this afternoon and it was finally warm enough

to crank open my windows and let the fresh air in. While driving my sporty little

red Mazda, shifting gears and taking names I turned my radio dial onto a heavy

rock station. I slipped on my rockin’ roll shades and steered the car with one

arm outstretched as I blared Ozzy Osbourne as loud as my car sanctioned stereo

would go without sounding muffled. I was basking in my divine masculine and loving

the power of it. During the trip I pulled over-cracked the hood and poured windsheild

washer fluid-full stream no funnel needed- ready to pounce on any man that tried to

“assist” this feminine looking woman. I felt the power of embracing my inner masculine

energy as I tore all of the seats, flooring and cabinetry out of my 1973 VW Van and

restored it all by myself; and I get that same rush when I sing a Led Zeppelin song with

the guys I jam with.

Women have power and strength-we love to embrace the gritty and raw side of life.

Men have sensitivities and grace and love to soften and embrace the gentle beauty of life.

Our society is becoming more open and receptive to the idea that androgynous thinking-

by that I mean embracing both the masculine and feminine sides of ourselves-will allow

us to achieve more balance and happiness.

The times where little girls were odd if they rocked a short haircut and wore slacks

are improving in Western countries and others as well-though we still have a long

way to go.

Similarly the times where boys were restricted from taking on careers that are

in the nurturing fields is lessening. The more evolved human beings see these

traits as empowering rather than odd and that is progress.

Restrictive thought patterns in general seem to be at least

argued against rather than accepted and conformed to-that too is progress.

If someone chooses to judge anyone that walks outside the lines are they not

the one we should feel sorry for? How terrible would it be to live a life full of

hatred and judgement?

My point is that as human beings we are more balanced when we allow the

gender roles to fall to the wayside and just embrace our ability to just live

and be-be who we chose-wear what we chose-spend our time doing what

we chose whether it is “pink”, “blue” or “purple”.

PeaceLove08122012

Morning Meditation for Balancing the Masculine and Feminine

divine-masculine-divine-feminine

Journal Entry: Think of a time when you were doing something that

allowed you to break through the gender role assigned to you at birth.

How did you feel? Was it uncomfortable-or was it empowering and

liberating. What rules where you brought up making to feel plunged

you deeper into the gender role of assignment? What could you do today,

tomorrow and the next day to rebel against your gender role? Now go

do it! What are you waiting for?

TwoLovingFaces1

Videos that Explore the Topic Further

Morning Yoga Session for Couples

Evening Meditation

217792_1677507777454_6882559_n

Peace, Love & Namaste-Em

Leave a Reply

