Day Sixty-Four: Universal Poetry Within’-The Ancient Poetry of Rumi

images (3)

Have you ever felt such an intense connection to something or

someone that you can’t help but feeling a sense of familiarity

when standing in front of that thing or person?

When I first read the Sufi poetry of Rumi I fell in love with

his words and was astounded when I realized these words

came to him organically in 1244. His poems are so

universal and can pass for intense modern poetry because

of their innate and pure simplicity and wisdom.

(Back story time people) My husband and I were in a band

about thirteen years ago; we disbanded after our first child was

born. We had been writing our own songs and the creativity

was kinetic in that group.

In the past six months my husband ran into two of the members

of our band and I heard from the third through Facebook.

Our guitar player has been coming to play ‘our’ music and some

renditions of covers as well-every weekend.

In the weeks leading up to the weekend-mostly in the car-when

I am alone and the radio is not on-songs are coming to me

organically. I have to keep  my smartphone handy so I can

record the songs as they come. When Terry-my hubby-drives

I scrawl the words that are coming out into several notebooks.

In the past few months I have written over 25 complete songs.

They all tell stories-some tragic; some non-sensical-some

intense-some chill. I have been through other difficult times

in my life, but never have I had so much creativity come

flowing out.

In later research I learned that Rumi met his mentor, a dervish,

Shams-E-Tabrizi on Nov.15th, 1244 and became a changed man.

Rumi was so inspired by Shams that when he went missing after

answering the door-Rumi’s bereavement sent him into a state of

such intense grief that he began reciting his lyrical poems

Divan-e-Shams-e-Tabrizi.

This is when he came upon this belief:

Why should I seek? I am the same as he.

His essence speaks through me. I have been looking for myself.

(wikipedia)

In retrospect I feel that so many of the most creative people

have come from a place of darkness and that place has

allowed them to see the light more intensely-therefore

allowing them to create such emotionally poignant pieces

of art.

cut-it-short-rumi-gayle-utter

Morning Meditation:

rumi-sureshrumi

Journal Entry: read some of Rumi’s poetry and respond in your journal.

Why are you connected to that specific poem? What did you learn about

yourself through the poetry?

Rumi (1)

A Selection of Poetry by Rumi

http://peacefulrivers.homestead.com/rumipoetry1.html

images (2)

Rumi-The Full Documentary

rumi-rumination-6-seema-sayyidah rumi-rumination-5-seema-sayyidah rumination-of-rumi-3-seema-sayyidah

Playlist of Poetry by Rumi-with Visual Inspiration/Music

privileged-lovers-sabina-nore3

If You Feel Compelled to Whirl like a Dirvish here is a video:

Evening Meditation:

Peace, Love & Namaste Em

Leave a Reply

