Day Fifty-Seven: “Water is Life”:The Magical Power of Hydration

drinking-water-charles-dey

When I was working twelve hour days and trying to scrape together some excess energy

to also care for my young family; nurture friendships; clean and organize my home…Drinking

definitely fell to the wayside. Drinking the entire contents of my water bottle in a day was

a rare and pitiful attempt at trying to remember to stay hydrated. Another blatant sign that

my ability to conduct a self care ritual was pathetic at best.

Now, as I heal I recognize when I am starting to feel dehydrated and I go out of my way to

stop, fill and drink a nice big glass of water with a slice of lemon.

My friend Erin and I did a casual run to Starbucks the other day and I was feeling pretty

parched-she suggested a cool lime refresher and said how hydrated she felt when she

drank them. I gave it a try and I sipped up the liquid soul fluid-as I sipped the minty,

fluid with a hint of lime I felt like a wave of energy was surging through my body.

Erin’s suggestion would ignite a new self care ritual-making a pitcher of cool lime

refresher that I would make ahead and drink throughout the day until the pitcher

ran dry. This insurance would allow me to gauge the amount of fluid I took in

during the day-plus; I would get that body burst that the cool lime minty delight

would promise.

images (1)

Here is my recipe for homemade lime mint refresher-it is pretty darn close and slightly

more organic then the Starbucks version:

What you’ll need-several limes-(you can add lemons/mandarin too) fresh mint leaves

two tablespoons of cane sugar, water of course.

Here’s how you do it!

Boil a full teapot of water-pour in a heat resistant jug-stir in the sugar;

place jug in the fridge to cool completely (3 hours). Add the juice of 3 limes

(or any combination of your citrus), stir in 3 large mint sprigs-smash them

with a potato smasher to release the mint. Now it’s ready to drink-the longer

it sits in the fridge the stronger the flavor-Strain when you drink!!! Enjoy!

water

Morning Meditation:

s140203 Drinking more water and my blue tea cup

Journal Entry: Try and think about how you feel when you are dehydrated.

What do you feel like when you are lacking hydration? When you take a drink

what do you notice happens to you? This week make a real effort to drink at

least the full pitcher of water each day and then reflect on the changes you

see. (P.S. Drinking fluids also helps speed the metabolism!)

Water_Bottle

Healthy Body Bollywood Workout!

Evening Mediation

images

Peace, Love & Namaste-Stay Hydrated Em

Leave a Reply

